AmChar vs Chattanooga Shooting

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for AmChar and Chattanooga Shooting.
AmCharChattanooga Shooting
Active SKUs35,51846,334
Distinct UPCs35,51346,227
Shared UPCs (both carry)12,420
Only at this distributor23,09333,807
Uptime100%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
Freshness

What each one lists most of

AmChar and Chattanooga Shooting describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

AmChar

Firearm
11,378
Parts & Components
3,643
Ammunition
3,365
Optic
2,318
Holster
2,184
Magazine
1,955
Tools & Maintenance
1,155
Reloading
1,091

Chattanooga Shooting

Firearm
8,687
Ammunition
7,288
Parts & Components
5,172
Reloading
5,169
Optic
4,160
Magazine
2,579
Tools & Maintenance
1,790
Hunting & Outdoors
1,547

Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components, Reloading, Optic, Magazine and Tools & Maintenance appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for AmChar and Chattanooga Shooting.
AmCharChattanooga Shooting
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Chattanooga Shooting lists 46,227 distinct UPCs to AmChar's 35,513 — about 1.3× the breadth. 12,420 UPCs are carried by both — 35% of what AmChar lists and 27% of what Chattanooga Shooting lists. Beyond that overlap, 23,093 UPCs appear on AmChar alone and 33,807 on Chattanooga Shooting alone. If you open one account, Chattanooga Shooting is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 23,093 UPCs unreachable, against 33,807 if you open AmChar instead. Carrying both reaches 69,320 distinct UPCs, 23,093 more than Chattanooga Shooting covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — AmChar lists 11,378 there to Chattanooga Shooting's 8,687. Over the window we monitor, the AmChar feed answered us 100% of the time and the Chattanooga Shooting feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

AmChar

AmChar Wholesale carries a large catalog that Project Parabellum syncs on the same schedule as the other API-connected distributors, giving a dealer broad coverage without opening a second account just to chase depth. Onboarding here differs from most of the other distributors on this hub: AmChar requires requests to be routed through an assigned sales representative, so expect a named person to be involved once your account is being set up.

How to open a AmChar dealer account

Chattanooga Shooting

Chattanooga Shooting Supplies runs one of the deepest catalogs on the hub, spanning firearms, ammunition, optics, and accessories. Project Parabellum consumes it as an API integration over a CSV feed and pulls the catalog on a schedule, so the depth shows up in how long a pass takes rather than in how current the result is. A dealer weighing this account against the narrower feeds here is mostly weighing breadth of assortment against the shorter sync of a smaller catalog.

How to open a Chattanooga Shooting dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a AmChar dealer account — Onboarding routes through an assigned sales representative rather than a purely self-service form; expect direct contact during setup. API credentials for order placement are a separate request from the account itself.
  • Apply for a Chattanooga Shooting dealer account — Because the catalog is this large, the first full sync after connecting an account takes noticeably longer than for a smaller distributor. API access for your own store is a separate request once the dealer account is active.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with AmChar or Chattanooga Shooting, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.

This page is rebuilt every day, and the shared-UPC counts on it are recomputed every 6 hours.