AmChar vs Iron Valley
Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.
| AmChar | Iron Valley | |
|---|---|---|
| Active SKUs | 35,184 | 19,978 |
| Distinct UPCs | 35,179 | 19,967 |
| Shared UPCs (both carry) | 8,546 | |
| Only at this distributor | 26,633 | 11,421 |
| Uptime | 99.9% | 100% |
| Integration | API | SFTP |
| Freshness | Synced 1 hour ago | Synced 26 minutes ago |
What each one lists most of
AmChar and Iron Valley describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.
AmChar
- Firearm
- 11,221
- Parts & Components
- 3,619
- Ammunition
- 3,351
- Optic
- 2,310
- Holster
- 2,183
- Magazine
- 1,952
- Tools & Maintenance
- 1,125
- Reloading
- 1,091
Iron Valley
- Firearm
- 8,039
- Ammunition
- 3,393
- Other
- 2,901
- Parts & Components
- 2,414
- Optic
- 1,864
- Suppressor
- 370
- Unknown Category
- 24
- Displays
- 14
Firearm, Parts & Components, Ammunition and Optic appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.
Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.
Where each one will ship it
Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.
| AmChar | Iron Valley | |
|---|---|---|
| Ships to your store | Yes | Yes |
| Offers drop-shipping | Not stated | Yes source |
| Ships to your customer's FFL | Not stated | Yes source |
| Ships to your customer's address | Not stated | No source |
| Ships NFA items to a receiving SOT | Not stated | Yes source |
Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.
Which should you open?
AmChar lists 35,179 distinct UPCs to Iron Valley's 19,967 — about 1.8× the breadth. 8,546 UPCs are carried by both — 24% of what AmChar lists and 43% of what Iron Valley lists. Beyond that overlap, 26,633 UPCs appear on AmChar alone and 11,421 on Iron Valley alone. If you open one account, AmChar is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 11,421 UPCs unreachable, against 26,633 if you open Iron Valley instead. Carrying both reaches 46,600 distinct UPCs, 11,421 more than AmChar covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — AmChar lists 11,221 there to Iron Valley's 8,039. Over the window we monitor, the AmChar feed answered us 99.9% of the time and the Iron Valley feed 100%.
This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.
AmChar
AmChar Wholesale carries a large catalog that Project Parabellum syncs on the same schedule as the other API-connected distributors, giving a dealer broad coverage without opening a second account just to chase depth. Onboarding here differs from most of the other distributors on this hub: AmChar requires requests to be routed through an assigned sales representative, so expect a named person to be involved once your account is being set up.
Iron Valley
Iron Valley Supply's catalog only shows up on the hub once a dealer connects their own SFTP login — like Crow Shooting Supply, it uses credentials tied to a specific dealer account rather than a shared integration key, so there's no general Iron Valley feed syncing independent of any one dealer the way there is for the API-based distributors here.
Applying for a dealer account
- Apply for a AmChar dealer account — Onboarding routes through an assigned sales representative rather than a purely self-service form; expect direct contact during setup. API credentials for order placement are a separate request from the account itself.
- Apply for a Iron Valley dealer account — SFTP credentials are dealer-specific; the catalog will not appear on the hub until you've connected your own login. As a file-drop connection, catalog and stock updates land on Iron Valley's schedule rather than on demand.
Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.