AmChar vs Lipseys

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for AmChar and Lipseys.
AmCharLipseys
Active SKUs35,18419,259
Distinct UPCs35,17919,259
Shared UPCs (both carry)5,821
Only at this distributor29,35813,438
Uptime99.9%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 1 hour agoSynced 55 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

AmChar and Lipseys describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

AmChar

Firearm
11,221
Parts & Components
3,619
Ammunition
3,351
Optic
2,310
Holster
2,183
Magazine
1,952
Tools & Maintenance
1,125
Reloading
1,091

Lipseys

Firearm
13,561
Parts & Components
2,608
Magazine
1,352
Optic
1,216
Light & Laser
318
Ammunition
95
Safe & Storage
34
Holster
26

Firearm, Parts & Components, Ammunition, Optic, Holster and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for AmChar and Lipseys.
AmCharLipseys
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

AmChar lists 35,179 distinct UPCs to Lipseys's 19,259 — about 1.8× the breadth. 5,821 UPCs are carried by both — 17% of what AmChar lists and 30% of what Lipseys lists. Beyond that overlap, 29,358 UPCs appear on AmChar alone and 13,438 on Lipseys alone. If you open one account, AmChar is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 13,438 UPCs unreachable, against 29,358 if you open Lipseys instead. Carrying both reaches 48,617 distinct UPCs, 13,438 more than AmChar covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Lipseys lists 13,561 there to AmChar's 11,221. Both feeds answered us 99.9% of the time over the window we monitor.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

AmChar

AmChar Wholesale carries a large catalog that Project Parabellum syncs on the same schedule as the other API-connected distributors, giving a dealer broad coverage without opening a second account just to chase depth. Onboarding here differs from most of the other distributors on this hub: AmChar requires requests to be routed through an assigned sales representative, so expect a named person to be involved once your account is being set up.

How to open a AmChar dealer account

Lipseys

Lipsey's runs a mid-sized catalog and markets a line it calls "Exclusive Firearms" — models it describes as produced specifically for its own distribution. Project Parabellum polls that catalog over a dealer API on the usual automated schedule, so exclusives and standard items arrive through the same connection and land on this hub the same way, with no separate feed or extra account behind them.

How to open a Lipseys dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a AmChar dealer accountOnboarding routes through an assigned sales representative rather than a purely self-service form; expect direct contact during setup. API credentials for order placement are a separate request from the account itself.
  • Apply for a Lipseys dealer accountAn Exclusive Firearms listing — a model Lipsey's describes as produced specifically for its own distribution — may arrive here with no match from another feed to set beside it, so expect it to appear as a single source rather than as one of several listings to weigh against each other.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with AmChar or Lipseys, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.