AmChar vs Primary Arms

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for AmChar and Primary Arms.
AmCharPrimary Arms
Active SKUs35,518788
Distinct UPCs35,513787
Shared UPCs (both carry)259
Only at this distributor35,254528
Uptime100%99.5%
IntegrationAPIAPI
Freshness

What each one lists most of

AmChar and Primary Arms describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

AmChar

Firearm
11,378
Parts & Components
3,643
Ammunition
3,365
Optic
2,318
Holster
2,184
Magazine
1,955
Tools & Maintenance
1,155
Reloading
1,091

Primary Arms

Ammunition
276
Magazine
267
Parts & Components
204
Optic
10
Handcuffs & Accessories
6
Rail Accessories
6
Safety & Protection
4
LE RESTRICTED Optics
3

Parts & Components, Ammunition, Optic and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for AmChar and Primary Arms.
AmCharPrimary Arms
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

AmChar lists 35,513 distinct UPCs to Primary Arms's 787 — about 45.1× the breadth. 259 UPCs are carried by both — 1% of what AmChar lists and 33% of what Primary Arms lists. Beyond that overlap, 35,254 UPCs appear on AmChar alone and 528 on Primary Arms alone. If you open one account, AmChar is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 528 UPCs unreachable, against 35,254 if you open Primary Arms instead. Carrying both reaches 36,041 distinct UPCs, 528 more than AmChar covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Parts & Components — AmChar lists 3,643 there to Primary Arms's 204. Over the window we monitor, the AmChar feed answered us 100% of the time and the Primary Arms feed 99.5%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

AmChar

AmChar Wholesale carries a large catalog that Project Parabellum syncs on the same schedule as the other API-connected distributors, giving a dealer broad coverage without opening a second account just to chase depth. Onboarding here differs from most of the other distributors on this hub: AmChar requires requests to be routed through an assigned sales representative, so expect a named person to be involved once your account is being set up.

How to open a AmChar dealer account

Primary Arms

Primary Arms syncs the smallest catalog Project Parabellum connects to today, delivered through a dealer API on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors here. Because the catalog is narrow, it works best as a secondary source that fills a specific gap rather than as the account a storefront builds its general inventory around.

How to open a Primary Arms dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a AmChar dealer account — Onboarding routes through an assigned sales representative rather than a purely self-service form; expect direct contact during setup. API credentials for order placement are a separate request from the account itself.
  • Apply for a Primary Arms dealer account — The narrow catalog makes this a supplemental source rather than a primary distributor.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with AmChar or Primary Arms, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.

This page is rebuilt every day, and the shared-UPC counts on it are recomputed every 6 hours.