Bill Hicks Co vs Lipseys

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Bill Hicks Co and Lipseys.
Bill Hicks CoLipseys
Active SKUs30,68219,259
Distinct UPCs30,68019,259
Shared UPCs (both carry)12,579
Only at this distributor18,1016,680
Uptime100%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 1 hour agoSynced 55 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

Bill Hicks Co and Lipseys describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Bill Hicks Co

Firearm
13,941
Hunting & Outdoors
4,793
Ammunition
3,408
Optic
2,566
Magazine
2,029
Reloading
1,500
Parts & Components
1,104
Suppressor
509

Lipseys

Firearm
13,561
Parts & Components
2,608
Magazine
1,352
Optic
1,216
Light & Laser
318
Ammunition
95
Safe & Storage
34
Holster
26

Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components, Optic and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Bill Hicks Co and Lipseys.
Bill Hicks CoLipseys
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Bill Hicks Co lists 30,680 distinct UPCs to Lipseys's 19,259 — about 1.6× the breadth. 12,579 UPCs are carried by both — 41% of what Bill Hicks Co lists and 65% of what Lipseys lists. Beyond that overlap, 18,101 UPCs appear on Bill Hicks Co alone and 6,680 on Lipseys alone. If you open one account, Bill Hicks Co is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 6,680 UPCs unreachable, against 18,101 if you open Lipseys instead. Carrying both reaches 37,360 distinct UPCs, 6,680 more than Bill Hicks Co covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Bill Hicks Co lists 13,941 there to Lipseys's 13,561. Over the window we monitor, the Bill Hicks Co feed answered us 100% of the time and the Lipseys feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Bill Hicks Co

Bill Hicks & Co. runs a broad catalog that Project Parabellum polls over a dealer API on an automated schedule. Breadth here is a matter of assortment width rather than depth in any one line, so on this hub it shows up as a distributor that has something to say about a lot of different searches. Whether that is worth an account depends on how many narrower distributors you would otherwise be reconciling by hand.

How to open a Bill Hicks Co dealer account

Lipseys

Lipsey's runs a mid-sized catalog and markets a line it calls "Exclusive Firearms" — models it describes as produced specifically for its own distribution. Project Parabellum polls that catalog over a dealer API on the usual automated schedule, so exclusives and standard items arrive through the same connection and land on this hub the same way, with no separate feed or extra account behind them.

How to open a Lipseys dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Bill Hicks Co dealer accountBreadth is the reason to open this account; if your other distributors are narrow specialists, this is the one that fills the spaces between them.
  • Apply for a Lipseys dealer accountAn Exclusive Firearms listing — a model Lipsey's describes as produced specifically for its own distribution — may arrive here with no match from another feed to set beside it, so expect it to appear as a single source rather than as one of several listings to weigh against each other.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Bill Hicks Co or Lipseys, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.