Chattanooga Shooting vs Orion

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Chattanooga Shooting and Orion.
Chattanooga ShootingOrion
Active SKUs46,33416,021
Distinct UPCs46,22716,021
Shared UPCs (both carry)8,111
Only at this distributor38,1167,910
Uptime99.9%100%
IntegrationAPIAPI
Freshness

What each one lists most of

Chattanooga Shooting and Orion describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Chattanooga Shooting

Firearm
8,687
Ammunition
7,288
Parts & Components
5,172
Reloading
5,169
Optic
4,160
Magazine
2,579
Tools & Maintenance
1,790
Hunting & Outdoors
1,547

Orion

Firearm
8,830
Ammunition
2,895
Parts & Components
970
Magazine
752
Optic
402
Suppressor
331
Knife & Tool
177
Light & Laser
157

Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components, Optic and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Chattanooga Shooting and Orion.
Chattanooga ShootingOrion
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Chattanooga Shooting lists 46,227 distinct UPCs to Orion's 16,021 — about 2.9× the breadth. 8,111 UPCs are carried by both — 18% of what Chattanooga Shooting lists and 51% of what Orion lists. Beyond that overlap, 38,116 UPCs appear on Chattanooga Shooting alone and 7,910 on Orion alone. If you open one account, Chattanooga Shooting is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 7,910 UPCs unreachable, against 38,116 if you open Orion instead. Carrying both reaches 54,137 distinct UPCs, 7,910 more than Chattanooga Shooting covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Orion lists 8,830 there to Chattanooga Shooting's 8,687. Over the window we monitor, the Chattanooga Shooting feed answered us 99.9% of the time and the Orion feed 100%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Chattanooga Shooting

Chattanooga Shooting Supplies runs one of the deepest catalogs on the hub, spanning firearms, ammunition, optics, and accessories. Project Parabellum consumes it as an API integration over a CSV feed and pulls the catalog on a schedule, so the depth shows up in how long a pass takes rather than in how current the result is. A dealer weighing this account against the narrower feeds here is mostly weighing breadth of assortment against the shorter sync of a smaller catalog.

How to open a Chattanooga Shooting dealer account

Orion

Orion Wholesale runs a general-line catalog roughly in the middle of the size range Project Parabellum syncs, connected through a dealer API on the same schedule as the rest of the API-connected distributors. Its scope stays broad rather than specializing in one category, which is the main reason a dealer would add it alongside a more focused distributor in their mix.

How to open a Orion dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Chattanooga Shooting dealer account — Because the catalog is this large, the first full sync after connecting an account takes noticeably longer than for a smaller distributor. API access for your own store is a separate request once the dealer account is active.
  • Apply for a Orion dealer account — The general-line catalog makes this a reasonable single account for a dealer not chasing a specific specialty.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Chattanooga Shooting or Orion, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.

This page is rebuilt every day, and the shared-UPC counts on it are recomputed every 6 hours.