Iron Valley vs Lipseys

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Iron Valley and Lipseys.
Iron ValleyLipseys
Active SKUs19,97819,259
Distinct UPCs19,96719,259
Shared UPCs (both carry)7,769
Only at this distributor12,19811,490
Uptime100%99.9%
IntegrationSFTPAPI
FreshnessSynced 26 minutes agoSynced 55 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

Iron Valley and Lipseys describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Iron Valley

Firearm
8,039
Ammunition
3,393
Other
2,901
Parts & Components
2,414
Optic
1,864
Suppressor
370
Unknown Category
24
Displays
14

Lipseys

Firearm
13,561
Parts & Components
2,608
Magazine
1,352
Optic
1,216
Light & Laser
318
Ammunition
95
Safe & Storage
34
Holster
26

Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components and Optic appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Iron Valley and Lipseys.
Iron ValleyLipseys
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingYes sourceNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLYes sourceNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNo sourceNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTYes sourceNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Iron Valley lists 19,967 distinct UPCs to Lipseys's 19,259 — within ten percent of each other. 7,769 UPCs are carried by both — 39% of what Iron Valley lists and 40% of what Lipseys lists. Beyond that overlap, 12,198 UPCs appear on Iron Valley alone and 11,490 on Lipseys alone. If you open one account, Iron Valley is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 11,490 UPCs unreachable, against 12,198 if you open Lipseys instead. Carrying both reaches 31,457 distinct UPCs, 11,490 more than Iron Valley covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Lipseys lists 13,561 there to Iron Valley's 8,039. Over the window we monitor, the Iron Valley feed answered us 100% of the time and the Lipseys feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Iron Valley

Iron Valley Supply's catalog only shows up on the hub once a dealer connects their own SFTP login — like Crow Shooting Supply, it uses credentials tied to a specific dealer account rather than a shared integration key, so there's no general Iron Valley feed syncing independent of any one dealer the way there is for the API-based distributors here.

How to open a Iron Valley dealer account

Lipseys

Lipsey's runs a mid-sized catalog and markets a line it calls "Exclusive Firearms" — models it describes as produced specifically for its own distribution. Project Parabellum polls that catalog over a dealer API on the usual automated schedule, so exclusives and standard items arrive through the same connection and land on this hub the same way, with no separate feed or extra account behind them.

How to open a Lipseys dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Iron Valley dealer accountSFTP credentials are dealer-specific; the catalog will not appear on the hub until you've connected your own login. As a file-drop connection, catalog and stock updates land on Iron Valley's schedule rather than on demand.
  • Apply for a Lipseys dealer accountAn Exclusive Firearms listing — a model Lipsey's describes as produced specifically for its own distribution — may arrive here with no match from another feed to set beside it, so expect it to appear as a single source rather than as one of several listings to weigh against each other.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Iron Valley or Lipseys, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.