Iron Valley vs Orion
Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.
| Iron Valley | Orion | |
|---|---|---|
| Active SKUs | 19,978 | 15,418 |
| Distinct UPCs | 19,967 | 15,418 |
| Shared UPCs (both carry) | 7,364 | |
| Only at this distributor | 12,603 | 8,054 |
| Uptime | 100% | 99.9% |
| Integration | SFTP | API |
| Freshness | Synced 26 minutes ago | Synced 52 minutes ago |
What each one lists most of
Iron Valley and Orion describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.
Iron Valley
- Firearm
- 8,039
- Ammunition
- 3,393
- Other
- 2,901
- Parts & Components
- 2,414
- Optic
- 1,864
- Suppressor
- 370
- Unknown Category
- 24
- Displays
- 14
Orion
- Firearm
- 8,407
- Ammunition
- 2,869
- Parts & Components
- 974
- Magazine
- 752
- Optic
- 399
- Suppressor
- 319
- Knife & Tool
- 182
- Light & Laser
- 153
Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components, Optic and Suppressor appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.
Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.
Where each one will ship it
Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.
| Iron Valley | Orion | |
|---|---|---|
| Ships to your store | Yes | Yes |
| Offers drop-shipping | Yes source | Not stated |
| Ships to your customer's FFL | Yes source | Not stated |
| Ships to your customer's address | No source | Not stated |
| Ships NFA items to a receiving SOT | Yes source | Not stated |
Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.
Which should you open?
Iron Valley lists 19,967 distinct UPCs to Orion's 15,418 — about 1.3× the breadth. 7,364 UPCs are carried by both — 37% of what Iron Valley lists and 48% of what Orion lists. Beyond that overlap, 12,603 UPCs appear on Iron Valley alone and 8,054 on Orion alone. If you open one account, Iron Valley is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 8,054 UPCs unreachable, against 12,603 if you open Orion instead. Carrying both reaches 28,021 distinct UPCs, 8,054 more than Iron Valley covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Orion lists 8,407 there to Iron Valley's 8,039. Over the window we monitor, the Iron Valley feed answered us 100% of the time and the Orion feed 99.9%.
This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.
Iron Valley
Iron Valley Supply's catalog only shows up on the hub once a dealer connects their own SFTP login — like Crow Shooting Supply, it uses credentials tied to a specific dealer account rather than a shared integration key, so there's no general Iron Valley feed syncing independent of any one dealer the way there is for the API-based distributors here.
Orion
Orion Wholesale runs a general-line catalog roughly in the middle of the size range Project Parabellum syncs, connected through a dealer API on the same schedule as the rest of the API-connected distributors. Its scope stays broad rather than specializing in one category, which is the main reason a dealer would add it alongside a more focused distributor in their mix.
Applying for a dealer account
- Apply for a Iron Valley dealer account — SFTP credentials are dealer-specific; the catalog will not appear on the hub until you've connected your own login. As a file-drop connection, catalog and stock updates land on Iron Valley's schedule rather than on demand.
- Apply for a Orion dealer account — The general-line catalog makes this a reasonable single account for a dealer not chasing a specific specialty.
Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.