Iron Valley vs RSR

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Iron Valley and RSR.
Iron ValleyRSR
Active SKUs19,97829,796
Distinct UPCs19,96729,796
Shared UPCs (both carry)9,913
Only at this distributor10,05419,883
Uptime100%99.9%
IntegrationSFTPAPI
FreshnessSynced 26 minutes agoSynced 50 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

Iron Valley and RSR describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Iron Valley

Firearm
8,039
Ammunition
3,393
Other
2,901
Parts & Components
2,414
Optic
1,864
Suppressor
370
Unknown Category
24
Displays
14

RSR

Firearm
8,311
Parts & Components
6,481
Optic
3,513
Ammunition
2,536
Magazine
1,932
Holster
1,456
Knife & Tool
951
Tools & Maintenance
904

Firearm, Parts & Components, Optic and Ammunition appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Iron Valley and RSR.
Iron ValleyRSR
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingYes sourceYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLYes sourceNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNo sourceNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTYes sourceNot stated

RSR says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

RSR lists 29,796 distinct UPCs to Iron Valley's 19,967 — about 1.5× the breadth. 9,913 UPCs are carried by both — 50% of what Iron Valley lists and 33% of what RSR lists. Beyond that overlap, 10,054 UPCs appear on Iron Valley alone and 19,883 on RSR alone. If you open one account, RSR is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 10,054 UPCs unreachable, against 19,883 if you open Iron Valley instead. Carrying both reaches 39,850 distinct UPCs, 10,054 more than RSR covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — RSR lists 8,311 there to Iron Valley's 8,039. Over the window we monitor, the Iron Valley feed answered us 100% of the time and the RSR feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Iron Valley

Iron Valley Supply's catalog only shows up on the hub once a dealer connects their own SFTP login — like Crow Shooting Supply, it uses credentials tied to a specific dealer account rather than a shared integration key, so there's no general Iron Valley feed syncing independent of any one dealer the way there is for the API-based distributors here.

How to open a Iron Valley dealer account

RSR

RSR Group syncs a broad catalog spanning handguns, long guns, ammunition, optics, and a deep accessory line through a dealer API. Project Parabellum pulls RSR's full catalog and stock positions on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors, so a dealer can see what RSR has today rather than relying on a static, periodically-updated catalog file.

How to open a RSR dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Iron Valley dealer accountSFTP credentials are dealer-specific; the catalog will not appear on the hub until you've connected your own login. As a file-drop connection, catalog and stock updates land on Iron Valley's schedule rather than on demand.
  • Apply for a RSR dealer accountAPI access for your own store is a separate request after the account is active.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Iron Valley or RSR, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.