Lipseys vs Orion

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Lipseys and Orion.
LipseysOrion
Active SKUs19,25915,418
Distinct UPCs19,25915,418
Shared UPCs (both carry)5,591
Only at this distributor13,6689,827
Uptime99.9%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 55 minutes agoSynced 52 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

Lipseys and Orion describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Lipseys

Firearm
13,561
Parts & Components
2,608
Magazine
1,352
Optic
1,216
Light & Laser
318
Ammunition
95
Safe & Storage
34
Holster
26

Orion

Firearm
8,407
Ammunition
2,869
Parts & Components
974
Magazine
752
Optic
399
Suppressor
319
Knife & Tool
182
Light & Laser
153

Firearm, Ammunition, Parts & Components, Magazine, Optic and Light & Laser appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Lipseys and Orion.
LipseysOrion
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Lipseys lists 19,259 distinct UPCs to Orion's 15,418 — about 1.2× the breadth. 5,591 UPCs are carried by both — 29% of what Lipseys lists and 36% of what Orion lists. Beyond that overlap, 13,668 UPCs appear on Lipseys alone and 9,827 on Orion alone. If you open one account, Lipseys is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 9,827 UPCs unreachable, against 13,668 if you open Orion instead. Carrying both reaches 29,086 distinct UPCs, 9,827 more than Lipseys covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Lipseys lists 13,561 there to Orion's 8,407. Both feeds answered us 99.9% of the time over the window we monitor.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Lipseys

Lipsey's runs a mid-sized catalog and markets a line it calls "Exclusive Firearms" — models it describes as produced specifically for its own distribution. Project Parabellum polls that catalog over a dealer API on the usual automated schedule, so exclusives and standard items arrive through the same connection and land on this hub the same way, with no separate feed or extra account behind them.

How to open a Lipseys dealer account

Orion

Orion Wholesale runs a general-line catalog roughly in the middle of the size range Project Parabellum syncs, connected through a dealer API on the same schedule as the rest of the API-connected distributors. Its scope stays broad rather than specializing in one category, which is the main reason a dealer would add it alongside a more focused distributor in their mix.

How to open a Orion dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Lipseys dealer accountAn Exclusive Firearms listing — a model Lipsey's describes as produced specifically for its own distribution — may arrive here with no match from another feed to set beside it, so expect it to appear as a single source rather than as one of several listings to weigh against each other.
  • Apply for a Orion dealer accountThe general-line catalog makes this a reasonable single account for a dealer not chasing a specific specialty.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Lipseys or Orion, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.