Lipseys vs RSR

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Lipseys and RSR.
LipseysRSR
Active SKUs19,25929,796
Distinct UPCs19,25929,796
Shared UPCs (both carry)8,955
Only at this distributor10,30420,841
Uptime99.9%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 55 minutes agoSynced 50 minutes ago

What each one lists most of

Lipseys and RSR describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Lipseys

Firearm
13,561
Parts & Components
2,608
Magazine
1,352
Optic
1,216
Light & Laser
318
Ammunition
95
Safe & Storage
34
Holster
26

RSR

Firearm
8,311
Parts & Components
6,481
Optic
3,513
Ammunition
2,536
Magazine
1,932
Holster
1,456
Knife & Tool
951
Tools & Maintenance
904

Firearm, Parts & Components, Optic, Ammunition, Magazine and Holster appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Lipseys and RSR.
LipseysRSR
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

RSR says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

RSR lists 29,796 distinct UPCs to Lipseys's 19,259 — about 1.5× the breadth. 8,955 UPCs are carried by both — 46% of what Lipseys lists and 30% of what RSR lists. Beyond that overlap, 10,304 UPCs appear on Lipseys alone and 20,841 on RSR alone. If you open one account, RSR is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 10,304 UPCs unreachable, against 20,841 if you open Lipseys instead. Carrying both reaches 40,100 distinct UPCs, 10,304 more than RSR covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Lipseys lists 13,561 there to RSR's 8,311. Both feeds answered us 99.9% of the time over the window we monitor.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Lipseys

Lipsey's runs a mid-sized catalog and markets a line it calls "Exclusive Firearms" — models it describes as produced specifically for its own distribution. Project Parabellum polls that catalog over a dealer API on the usual automated schedule, so exclusives and standard items arrive through the same connection and land on this hub the same way, with no separate feed or extra account behind them.

How to open a Lipseys dealer account

RSR

RSR Group syncs a broad catalog spanning handguns, long guns, ammunition, optics, and a deep accessory line through a dealer API. Project Parabellum pulls RSR's full catalog and stock positions on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors, so a dealer can see what RSR has today rather than relying on a static, periodically-updated catalog file.

How to open a RSR dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Lipseys dealer accountAn Exclusive Firearms listing — a model Lipsey's describes as produced specifically for its own distribution — may arrive here with no match from another feed to set beside it, so expect it to appear as a single source rather than as one of several listings to weigh against each other.
  • Apply for a RSR dealer accountAPI access for your own store is a separate request after the account is active.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Lipseys or RSR, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.