MGE vs Primary Arms

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for MGE and Primary Arms.
MGEPrimary Arms
Active SKUs5,912812
Distinct UPCs5,911811
Shared UPCs (both carry)118
Only at this distributor5,793693
Uptime100%99.9%
IntegrationFTPAPI
FreshnessSynced 24 minutes agoSynced 13 hours ago

What each one lists most of

MGE and Primary Arms describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

MGE

Firearm
3,432
Knife & Tool
930
Other
854
Ammunition
465
Optic
231

Primary Arms

Ammunition
277
Magazine
273
Parts & Components
216
Optic
11
Handcuffs & Accessories
6
Rail Accessories
6
Safety & Protection
5
Seasonal
4

Ammunition and Optic appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for MGE and Primary Arms.
MGEPrimary Arms
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

MGE lists 5,911 distinct UPCs to Primary Arms's 811 — about 7.3× the breadth. 118 UPCs are carried by both — 2% of what MGE lists and 15% of what Primary Arms lists. Beyond that overlap, 5,793 UPCs appear on MGE alone and 693 on Primary Arms alone. If you open one account, MGE is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 693 UPCs unreachable, against 5,793 if you open Primary Arms instead. Carrying both reaches 6,604 distinct UPCs, 693 more than MGE covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Ammunition — MGE lists 465 there to Primary Arms's 277. Over the window we monitor, the MGE feed answered us 100% of the time and the Primary Arms feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

MGE

MGE Wholesale runs a smaller, focused catalog and delivers it to Project Parabellum as scheduled file drops rather than a live API connection. It fits best as a supplemental account in a dealer's distributor mix — a narrower catalog checked alongside a bigger primary feed rather than run instead of one.

How to open a MGE dealer account

Primary Arms

Primary Arms syncs the smallest catalog Project Parabellum connects to today, delivered through a dealer API on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors here. Because the catalog is narrow, it works best as a secondary source that fills a specific gap rather than as the account a storefront builds its general inventory around.

How to open a Primary Arms dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a MGE dealer accountAs a smaller, focused catalog, MGE works best as a supplemental account rather than a dealer's sole distributor. Being an FTP file drop rather than an API, catalog and stock updates arrive on MGE's schedule.
  • Apply for a Primary Arms dealer accountThe narrow catalog makes this a supplemental source rather than a primary distributor.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with MGE or Primary Arms, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.