Orion vs Primary Arms

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Orion and Primary Arms.
OrionPrimary Arms
Active SKUs15,418812
Distinct UPCs15,418811
Shared UPCs (both carry)280
Only at this distributor15,138531
Uptime99.9%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 5 hours agoSynced 13 hours ago

What each one lists most of

Orion and Primary Arms describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Orion

Firearm
8,407
Ammunition
2,869
Parts & Components
974
Magazine
752
Optic
399
Suppressor
319
Knife & Tool
182
Light & Laser
153

Primary Arms

Ammunition
277
Magazine
273
Parts & Components
216
Optic
11
Handcuffs & Accessories
6
Rail Accessories
6
Safety & Protection
5
Seasonal
4

Ammunition, Parts & Components, Magazine and Optic appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Orion and Primary Arms.
OrionPrimary Arms
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Orion lists 15,418 distinct UPCs to Primary Arms's 811 — about 19× the breadth. 280 UPCs are carried by both — 2% of what Orion lists and 35% of what Primary Arms lists. Beyond that overlap, 15,138 UPCs appear on Orion alone and 531 on Primary Arms alone. If you open one account, Orion is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 531 UPCs unreachable, against 15,138 if you open Primary Arms instead. Carrying both reaches 15,949 distinct UPCs, 531 more than Orion covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Ammunition — Orion lists 2,869 there to Primary Arms's 277. Both feeds answered us 99.9% of the time over the window we monitor.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Orion

Orion Wholesale runs a general-line catalog roughly in the middle of the size range Project Parabellum syncs, connected through a dealer API on the same schedule as the rest of the API-connected distributors. Its scope stays broad rather than specializing in one category, which is the main reason a dealer would add it alongside a more focused distributor in their mix.

How to open a Orion dealer account

Primary Arms

Primary Arms syncs the smallest catalog Project Parabellum connects to today, delivered through a dealer API on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors here. Because the catalog is narrow, it works best as a secondary source that fills a specific gap rather than as the account a storefront builds its general inventory around.

How to open a Primary Arms dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Orion or Primary Arms, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.