Orion vs RSR

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Orion and RSR.
OrionRSR
Active SKUs15,41829,797
Distinct UPCs15,41829,797
Shared UPCs (both carry)6,745
Only at this distributor8,67323,052
Uptime99.9%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
FreshnessSynced 5 hours agoSynced 5 hours ago

What each one lists most of

Orion and RSR describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Orion

Firearm
8,407
Ammunition
2,869
Parts & Components
974
Magazine
752
Optic
399
Suppressor
319
Knife & Tool
182
Light & Laser
153

RSR

Firearm
8,311
Parts & Components
6,481
Optic
3,513
Ammunition
2,536
Magazine
1,932
Holster
1,456
Knife & Tool
951
Tools & Maintenance
904

Firearm, Parts & Components, Optic, Ammunition, Magazine and Knife & Tool appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Orion and RSR.
OrionRSR
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

RSR says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

RSR lists 29,797 distinct UPCs to Orion's 15,418 — about 1.9× the breadth. 6,745 UPCs are carried by both — 44% of what Orion lists and 23% of what RSR lists. Beyond that overlap, 8,673 UPCs appear on Orion alone and 23,052 on RSR alone. If you open one account, RSR is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 8,673 UPCs unreachable, against 23,052 if you open Orion instead. Carrying both reaches 38,470 distinct UPCs, 8,673 more than RSR covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Orion lists 8,407 there to RSR's 8,311. Both feeds answered us 99.9% of the time over the window we monitor.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Orion

Orion Wholesale runs a general-line catalog roughly in the middle of the size range Project Parabellum syncs, connected through a dealer API on the same schedule as the rest of the API-connected distributors. Its scope stays broad rather than specializing in one category, which is the main reason a dealer would add it alongside a more focused distributor in their mix.

How to open a Orion dealer account

RSR

RSR Group syncs a broad catalog spanning handguns, long guns, ammunition, optics, and a deep accessory line through a dealer API. Project Parabellum pulls RSR's full catalog and stock positions on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors, so a dealer can see what RSR has today rather than relying on a static, periodically-updated catalog file.

How to open a RSR dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Orion or RSR, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.