Primary Arms vs RSR

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Primary Arms and RSR.
Primary ArmsRSR
Active SKUs78829,927
Distinct UPCs78729,924
Shared UPCs (both carry)485
Only at this distributor30229,439
Uptime99.5%99.9%
IntegrationAPIAPI
Freshness

What each one lists most of

Primary Arms and RSR describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Primary Arms

Ammunition
276
Magazine
267
Parts & Components
204
Optic
10
Handcuffs & Accessories
6
Rail Accessories
6
Safety & Protection
4
LE RESTRICTED Optics
3

RSR

Firearm
8,362
Parts & Components
6,523
Optic
3,583
Ammunition
2,529
Magazine
1,973
Holster
1,447
Knife & Tool
926
Tools & Maintenance
905

Parts & Components, Optic, Ammunition and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Primary Arms and RSR.
Primary ArmsRSR
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

RSR says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

RSR lists 29,924 distinct UPCs to Primary Arms's 787 — about 38× the breadth. 485 UPCs are carried by both — 62% of what Primary Arms lists and 2% of what RSR lists. Beyond that overlap, 302 UPCs appear on Primary Arms alone and 29,439 on RSR alone. If you open one account, RSR is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 302 UPCs unreachable, against 29,439 if you open Primary Arms instead. Carrying both reaches 30,226 distinct UPCs, 302 more than RSR covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Parts & Components — RSR lists 6,523 there to Primary Arms's 204. Over the window we monitor, the Primary Arms feed answered us 99.5% of the time and the RSR feed 99.9%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Primary Arms

Primary Arms syncs the smallest catalog Project Parabellum connects to today, delivered through a dealer API on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors here. Because the catalog is narrow, it works best as a secondary source that fills a specific gap rather than as the account a storefront builds its general inventory around.

How to open a Primary Arms dealer account

RSR

RSR Group syncs a broad catalog spanning handguns, long guns, ammunition, optics, and a deep accessory line through a dealer API. Project Parabellum pulls RSR's full catalog and stock positions on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors, so a dealer can see what RSR has today rather than relying on a static, periodically-updated catalog file.

How to open a RSR dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Primary Arms or RSR, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.

This page is rebuilt every day, and the shared-UPC counts on it are recomputed every 6 hours.