Primary Arms vs Zanders

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for Primary Arms and Zanders.
Primary ArmsZanders
Active SKUs81234,893
Distinct UPCs81134,893
Shared UPCs (both carry)376
Only at this distributor43534,517
Uptime99.9%100%
IntegrationAPIFTP
FreshnessSynced 13 hours agoSynced 5 hours ago

What each one lists most of

Primary Arms and Zanders describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

Primary Arms

Ammunition
277
Magazine
273
Parts & Components
216
Optic
11
Handcuffs & Accessories
6
Rail Accessories
6
Safety & Protection
5
Seasonal
4

Zanders

Firearm
10,298
Parts & Components
5,063
Ammunition
3,252
Optic
2,953
Magazine
2,142
Hunting & Outdoors
2,073
Reloading
2,060
Tools & Maintenance
1,263

Parts & Components, Ammunition, Optic and Magazine appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for Primary Arms and Zanders.
Primary ArmsZanders
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingNot statedYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

Zanders says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Zanders lists 34,893 distinct UPCs to Primary Arms's 811 — about 43× the breadth. 376 UPCs are carried by both — 46% of what Primary Arms lists and 1% of what Zanders lists. Beyond that overlap, 435 UPCs appear on Primary Arms alone and 34,517 on Zanders alone. If you open one account, Zanders is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 435 UPCs unreachable, against 34,517 if you open Primary Arms instead. Carrying both reaches 35,328 distinct UPCs, 435 more than Zanders covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Parts & Components — Zanders lists 5,063 there to Primary Arms's 216. Over the window we monitor, the Primary Arms feed answered us 99.9% of the time and the Zanders feed 100%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

Primary Arms

Primary Arms syncs the smallest catalog Project Parabellum connects to today, delivered through a dealer API on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors here. Because the catalog is narrow, it works best as a secondary source that fills a specific gap rather than as the account a storefront builds its general inventory around.

How to open a Primary Arms dealer account

Zanders

G. Zanders runs one of the larger catalogs Project Parabellum syncs, yet unlike the hub's other deep catalogs it reaches Project Parabellum through scheduled FTP file drops rather than a live API. For a dealer weighing distributor options, that pairing is the notable thing about this account: a substantial assortment delivered on a file-drop cadence instead of the on-demand polling that the other large distributors here use.

How to open a Zanders dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a Primary Arms dealer accountThe narrow catalog makes this a supplemental source rather than a primary distributor.
  • Apply for a Zanders dealer accountAs an FTP file drop, catalog and stock updates arrive on Zanders' schedule rather than on demand. The catalog's size means the first full sync after connecting an account takes noticeably longer than for a smaller distributor, even though updates still arrive as scheduled FTP files rather than on demand.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with Primary Arms or Zanders, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.