RSR vs Zanders

Both catalogs are synced into one shared vocabulary, so the same UPC can be counted on either side and matched across them. Everything below is what we measured in the two feeds — how much each one lists, how much of it is the same product, and what only one of them carries.

Catalog size, overlap, feed uptime, and integration type for RSR and Zanders.
RSRZanders
Active SKUs29,79734,893
Distinct UPCs29,79734,893
Shared UPCs (both carry)13,574
Only at this distributor16,22321,319
Uptime99.9%100%
IntegrationAPIFTP
FreshnessSynced 5 hours agoSynced 5 hours ago

What each one lists most of

RSR and Zanders describe their catalogs in their own words, and we resolve both against one shared product vocabulary before counting. A category below therefore means the same thing on either side. Each list is that distributor’s own largest categories, counted in active listings.

RSR

Firearm
8,311
Parts & Components
6,481
Optic
3,513
Ammunition
2,536
Magazine
1,932
Holster
1,456
Knife & Tool
951
Tools & Maintenance
904

Zanders

Firearm
10,298
Parts & Components
5,063
Ammunition
3,252
Optic
2,953
Magazine
2,142
Hunting & Outdoors
2,073
Reloading
2,060
Tools & Maintenance
1,263

Firearm, Parts & Components, Optic, Ammunition, Magazine and Tools & Maintenance appear in both lists, so those counts can be read against each other directly.

Each list stops at that distributor’s eight largest categories. A category on one list and not the other is one we have not counted here, not one that distributor does not carry.

Where each one will ship it

Taken from each company’s own site on the dates shown on their individual pages. Running a drop-ship programme and naming where the parcel goes are separate questions, and most distributors answer only the first — so “Not stated” below means they have not published it, not that they refuse.

Drop-ship programme and shipping destinations for RSR and Zanders.
RSRZanders
Ships to your storeYesYes
Offers drop-shippingYes sourceYes source
Ships to your customer's FFLNot statedNot stated
Ships to your customer's addressNot statedNot stated
Ships NFA items to a receiving SOTNot statedNot stated

RSR says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Zanders says they drop-ship but does not publish where the parcel goes. Ask them before you promise a customer a delivery address.

Every distributor here ships to your own licensed premises — that is what a wholesale account is, not a policy any one of them publishes. Confirm anything you will act on directly with the distributor.

Which should you open?

Zanders lists 34,893 distinct UPCs to RSR's 29,797 — about 1.2× the breadth. 13,574 UPCs are carried by both — 46% of what RSR lists and 39% of what Zanders lists. Beyond that overlap, 16,223 UPCs appear on RSR alone and 21,319 on Zanders alone. If you open one account, Zanders is the wider of the two on its own — it leaves 16,223 UPCs unreachable, against 21,319 if you open RSR instead. Carrying both reaches 51,116 distinct UPCs, 16,223 more than Zanders covers alone. The largest category in both lists is Firearm — Zanders lists 10,298 there to RSR's 8,311. Over the window we monitor, the RSR feed answered us 99.9% of the time and the Zanders feed 100%.

This is arithmetic on the counts above, not a recommendation of one company over the other. Which account is worth opening also depends on terms and on what your customers ask for, neither of which is in the catalog data we measure. What each company publishes about shipping destinations is in the table above it.

RSR

RSR Group syncs a broad catalog spanning handguns, long guns, ammunition, optics, and a deep accessory line through a dealer API. Project Parabellum pulls RSR's full catalog and stock positions on the same automated schedule as the other API-connected distributors, so a dealer can see what RSR has today rather than relying on a static, periodically-updated catalog file.

How to open a RSR dealer account

Zanders

G. Zanders runs one of the larger catalogs Project Parabellum syncs, yet unlike the hub's other deep catalogs it reaches Project Parabellum through scheduled FTP file drops rather than a live API. For a dealer weighing distributor options, that pairing is the notable thing about this account: a substantial assortment delivered on a file-drop cadence instead of the on-demand polling that the other large distributors here use.

How to open a Zanders dealer account

Applying for a dealer account

  • Apply for a RSR dealer accountAPI access for your own store is a separate request after the account is active.
  • Apply for a Zanders dealer accountAs an FTP file drop, catalog and stock updates arrive on Zanders' schedule rather than on demand. The catalog's size means the first full sync after connecting an account takes noticeably longer than for a smaller distributor, even though updates still arrive as scheduled FTP files rather than on demand.

Both links leave this site. Applications are submitted to, reviewed by, and approved by the distributor themselves — Project Parabellum is not part of that process and cannot speed it up or vouch for you.

Project Parabellum is not affiliated with RSR or Zanders, and neither distributor reviews or supplies this page.

The counts here are our own measurements of the feeds we sync, refreshed hourly. They describe what each distributor sends us, which is not the same thing as everything either company sells, and they will differ from figures published elsewhere.